My favorite lip balm

I think I’ve shared the base of this recipe before, but this new essential oil blend I have for it makes it so divine it bears repeating. 

A “London Fog” tea is a strong cup of Earl Grey, to which sugar, vanilla extract, and cream has been added. It’s absolutely divine. I’ve attempted to recreate the scent here by adding benzoin, with it’s strong vanilla notes, palmarosa, which is decidedly tea like, and bergatapene free bergamot (I’m using the bergatapene free version so my lips won’t sunburn, as citrus essential oils like bergamot are photo toxic-best to be safe). 

This really smells good. When I added the essential oils my husband called out from the living room, “What are you making? It smells great!” I explained it was lip balm and he thought this would make a great lotion (I actually got the idea off a website that made a London Fog lotion, so he’s probably right). He’s a dedicated fan of bergamot, though. We both are. It’s versatile and unisex, refreshing and cheery with it’s sunny citrus notes. 

The lip balm recipe itself is probably my absolute favorite because it doesn’t use coconut oil. Coconut oil is so good for so many things, but in lip balm, which goes through a lot of temperature changes (your warm pocket, hot or cold car, reasonable house, etc.) it can become grainy. This doesn’t affect the quality of the lip balm at all but it makes it unattractive. To some degree, shea butter can do it, too, but I’ve had less trouble with this shea-rich recipe that’s intensively moisturizing and luscious. I especially love this during the dry times and end up with tubes or pots stashed everywhere. Making London Fog flavor was a stroke of genius second only to when I came up with chai spice. 

Here’s the recipe: 

(Makes 4-5. You can easily double it, I always do!)

5g beeswax

5g shea butter

3g cocoa butter

5g avocado oil

3g castor oil

5 drops Vitamin E

2 blobs benzoin essential oil (benzoin is a sticky resin, so set the bottle in hot water to thin it for a few minutes before you try to pour it. It’s still blobs instead of drops)

4 drops palmarosa essential oil

4 drops bergatapene free version bergamot essential oil

Have fun! Be sure to get the bergatapene free version of bergamot or take care not to use this lip balm if you’ll be outside or risk burns on your lips outside. That would be truly horrific. Don’t risk it. Substitute something like litsea cubeba or lemongrass. 

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

