Things like Velcro, part 3 

The first time my anti-chafing blend was liquid oils and corn starch and it worked beautifully but over time it separated and became hard to mix back together, and also the liquid oils were messy and leaked from the container on to my night stand. So, not quite a win. 

The second time I attempted to turn it into a cream, with the corn starch suspended in the mixture of oil, mango butter, and emulsifying wax. It works, but I can’t help but think there’s a more simple solution for people who don’t have access to emulsifying wax and don’t want to invest in it. So I decided to try round 3: coconut oil. 

Right now, my house is so warm that all my coconut oil is liquid so I’m having to rely on my fridge to “resolidify” some of it. While I usually work in grams, for ease we are eyeballing this in cups. It’s very simple:

1/3c arrowroot powder

1/3c cornstarch (I like using both arrowroot and cornstarch because I feel like they bring different properties to the product but you can use all of one or the other; whichever you have is fine!)

1/3-1/2c melted coconut oil

10-20 drops essential oils of your choice (I used 8 drops each michelia alba and helichrysum, and 5 drops bergamot. It’s a light, citrussy smell with a little sweetness from the helichrysum-I’m also making lotion and shampoo with this same blend because it’s so awesome)

Add essential oils to dry ingredients. Slowly add melted coconut oil to dry ingredients, mixing well, til you have a thick paste. Add just enough to bring it all together, too much and it will be very oily and not leave enough powder behind when you use it.  Store in cool place where coconut oil will solidify again. If camping or traveling somewhere warm, try and keep in cooler so doesn’t melt and separate. I store this in a glass Mason jar so it’s easy to access and also easy to throw in the fridge or cooler if it starts getting soft in these warm temps. 

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

