Super Shea Butter Lip Balm

So this is my FAVORITE lip balm. It works in a tube, or in a small pot (my preference). It’s rich and creamy and stays solid even after a day in a hot car or your pocket. I still love using lavender essential oil and cardamom essential oil for it with a pinch of stevia or Splenda, although rumor is you can even use a gram or two of honey and it will emulsify-but I haven’t tried that. I’m worried the honey will settle at the bottom. You can always use the flavored lip balm oils. I think they have a weird aftertaste but my granddaughter says they are fine, particular strawberry, so there’s that. 

Ultra Moisturizing Shea Butter Lip Balm

Makes 4-5 lip balms or small pots (5g)

4g beeswax

5g Shea Butter (raw or refined)

4g cocoa butter

4g calendula infused olive oil (one time I used infused coconut oil here and the results were fabulous)

4g avocado oil (or skip the olive oil and use 8g avocado oil)

5 drops Vitamin E oil

5-10 drops essential oils (I use lavender and cardamom but you could use spearmint or peppermint-I would only use 5 drops)

Weigh the oils and butters into a pyrex or other heat resistant measuring cup or double boiler. Melt and bring water to simmer; heat and hold 20 minutes to prevent future graininess. Add beeswax and melt through. Add vit E oil. Remove from heat add essential oil and pinch sweeter if desired. Warning: sweetner may make lip balm slightly gritty. 

Pour the melted lip balm into 4-5 tubes or pots and let cool. 

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

