Masked bandit

About once a week, I like to do a mud mask. Usually I just wash my face with water, but inevitably I have a day or night where I get very sweaty (night sweats, they are a thing!) and I will feel very oily and slimy on my face. 

My favorite thing to use is my rose clay bar, which I just run under warm water, rub a little to “lather” up some clay, then rub on my face. As long as I store it back on the shelf to air dry, it works great and has been long lasting; I think I’ve had it nearly a year now. 

Today, though, I went for something new and whipped up a green clay and honey mask. Here’s how you do it:

3 tsp kaolin clay

3 tsp French green clay

1 tsp raw honey

1 tsp Apple cider vinegar (optional)

Warm water

Add everything but the water to a bowl. Start adding water, one tablespoon at a time and stirring well until you get the consistency of frosting. Apply to face, let dry about 15-20 minutes or until feels tight and slightly uncomfortable. Get a washcloth wet and lay it across your face for a few minutes before removing mask to soften things back up or remove in the shower. Apply facial oil like argan, evening primrose, or rose hip, afterwards for moisturizing purposes. Or if you’ve made an amazing moisturizer, now’s a great time to use it!

No pictures today: my phone didn’t charge last night and so it’s dead. It apparently got knocked off the side table in my sleep and came disconnected from the charger. It had enough charge to wake me up early this morning before powering off. Thankfully! But it’s charging now. The upshot for me is I don’t have to make silly selfie faces in this clay mask for you. I will give you a few old pics: 

Here is my rose clay bar. It is made of rose clay, kaolin clay, coconut oil, aloe vera, and witch hazel. To learn to make a rose clay bar check out this link here!

Here is an old pic of me in a bentonite clay mask from when this blog first started. Today is the same, just shorter hair and darker mask. Lol. 

Enjoy your DIY mask! 

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

