Aftershave, 2.0

I took what I had learned after I made J’s Bay Rum after shave and applied it towards making a sandalwood aftershave for one of my favorite friends. This version has a touch of glycerin to act as a humectant, which will counteract all the drying alcohol by drawing moisture to the skin. The alcohol definitely deserves a purpose and it’s necessary, but being able to soothe the skin and replace lost moisture-without being sticky, tacky, or oily- is a great thing. In addition, this version has alum, which serves as a styptic in case of nicks and cuts. And I left out the magnesium, which we suspected caused a wind burned sensation on J in his aftershave. 

The essential oil blend here is fantastic. There’s a lot, and I mean a lot, of plain old sandalwood because I didn’t want to cover that smell, only enhance it. I deepened it with a little rosewood and a touch of vetiver, and for middle notes added clary sage and black pepper. Finally, there’s the fresh top notes of lime and petitgrain, which is just enough like orange to compliment the sandalwood and just different enough to be interesting. All in all, it smells fantastic, and I wasn’t unhappy when I ended up with some on my hands and had to smell it for about an hour. It’s more masculine than plain old sandalwood, and more interesting, too. I could sniff this on someone for awhile-I’ll have to make J a sandalwood blend of some kind eventually-and I hope my friend has luck with the other women in his life wanting to smell it. 😉 

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

