Summer Shimmer

image

Today I made a really big batch of summer shimmer lotion. I made a larger bottle, as seen above, for myself, and five smaller bottles to give away in the hopes of getting people hooked on natural lotion.

The lotion has gold and bronze mica in it, which gives it its color and shimmer, but once it’s on your body and rubbed in, there’s very, very, little shimmer visible. I couldn’t get the camera to pick it up at all and I could barely see it on my arm, only in the sunlight was it really noticeable at all.

image

image

It was a quick and easy lotion to make as I didn’t include any botanicals except aloe vera and I stuck with very basic carrier oils like safflower and olive with some shea butter. However, it should be a great summer weight lotion with excellent moisturizing properties and easy absorption. I’m enjoying it so far.

I used lemongrass and eucalyptus essential oils to make it smell good but still be off putting to most insects. At least, I hope so. It’s the best I could do without breaking into the really smelly stuff like citronella and lemon eucalyptus, and I didn’t want to do that.

The scent is light, anyways, and not overpowering. Overall, it’s a nice daily lotion for summer and I hope my friends enjoy it when I pass it out shortly. Getting feedback on these items helps me improve them before they go into my shop.

I also added some pages to my site here today in preparation for building an actual website eventually. I would like to get away from Etsy, and I feel like what I pay them monthly on advertising could host a website easily. I added a medical disclaimer, and a page about my organic/all natural status. I’m not certified organic and I don’t pretend to be, but most of my items are definitely natural items and made with cruelty free and organic ingredients. For now, that’s all I can promise. If you want to know more, go to my “about” page and you’ll find the links that go to the new pages.

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

