Scrub a dub

image

From time to time, Wholesale Supplies Plus puts up recipes for different things to DIY. Often they are melt and pour soap ideas, which is great if that’s your thing, but it’s not mine. However, they just put up a recipe for a Blue Agave Body Scrub and I was intrigued. I didn’t have the right colorants or fragrance oil (and I always prefer to use essential oils when I can anyways), so I thought of ways to change it up to fit what I already had. Also, their recipe made a very big batch, and I wanted a very small batch, so I divided it in half. Finally, I didn’t have two of the carrier oils they called for, but knowing what I do about oils I made appropriate substitutions.

You can find their recipe here. I decided to change it from Blue Agave to Citrus Blast, and instead of making four 8 oz jars, I made four 4 oz jars. Finally, I included a teensy bit of surfactante with mine so it will be ever so slightly foamy and cleansing, even with the oils. I love having a surfactant with oils, I feel like I get very clean with the combination since dirt will bind to oils and dead skin will, too, and a surfactant will help release any bad oils from the skin like petroleum products you may have picked up.

image

This recipe called for a lot of ingredients! It’s simple to make, and you could combine all the oils down into one medium weight carrier oil like olive oil, I guess, to simplify it. You could also leave out color and use one essential oil instead of a blend. Using a blend definitely took up some time, but it smells so juicy and fresh it was worth it. I used orange and lemon essential oils first, then bergamot to balance that, and rosemary, then small amounts of grapefruit and lime. The end result is amazing and I’m glad I wrote down the measurements. I would love this for a soap.

image

The main butter or oil for this is shea butter, which you see here being melted with Emulsifying Wax NF and some stearic acid. The stearic acid is also an emulsifier and has cleansing properties, it’s not just there for no reason.

The recipe is as follows:

Ingredients

30g Safflower Oil
45g Avocado oil.
30g Sweet Almond oil
60g Emulsifying Wax (I used Emulsifying Wax NF this time)
30g Stearic Acid

15g Cetyl Alcohol
55g Shea Butter
15g SLSa

15g SCI (either get the finely ground kind or finely grind the noodle kind)
5 oz Sugar
1/4 tsp Sunshine yellow mica (or other color of your choice)
7g Optiphen or Phenonip
15g essential oil blend (orange, lemon, bergamot, rosemary, lime, grapefruit, or other blend of your choice)

Recipe Directions
Weigh the Emulsifing Wax and Stearic Acid and place in double boiler. Weigh the Shea Butter and add to pot with waxes. Place over low heat on stove until just melted
Weigh the oils out, and add to the melted wax/butter mixture. Stir gently and remove from stove. With hand mixer or whisk, blend on low until ingredients have emulsified.
Let product cool down and thicken up.
Add granulated sugar, SLSa and SCI, and mix in gently to incorporate.
Add colorants as desired. Making sure product is cool, add fragrance and preservative and mix well. Blend with hand mixer until product gets fluffy and smooth.
Place product into jars, filling each to approximately 3/4 full. If more product remains divide up evenly.
Product will thicken up once it has completely cooled.
Place lids on the jars and label accordingly.
To Use: Scoop out a small amount of scrub and add a small amount of warm water. Mix together in your hand and then apply to wet skin. Rinse thoroughly, then pat dry.

image

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

