Small things…

I’ve found with the help of the 6 month old kitchen assistant, that there are still small things I’m able to DIY to break up the monotony of being a stay at home “mom” again. And there are times it is monotonous, no lie. This week, we made some solid perfumes.

I made a big batch of “base”, then put the essential oils for each into the tins I was using for the perfumes and just stirred well after I added the melted base to each one. However, for each 1 oz tin, it comes out to approximately 1 tbsp each beeswax, emulsifying wax, and carrier oil of your choice (I used safflower oil).

I made three perfumes, two with labdanum that need time to mature and blend before I wear them or gift them, and one that J loved right away that has patchouli, vetiver, clove, cardamom, and bergamot. It’s really nice and I’m glad I made it. I have a perfume I wear all the time, but I’m willing to wear this as a daily one for fun for awhile.

Next up in this vein is making aftershave or men’s cologne. I’m curious to see if I can get Bay Rum right and I think I know of a few other scents you men would enjoy.

Also today, I was gathering ingredients to make sugar scrub with Tater in my arms and she fell asleep! Definitely have to put her in the baby carrier from now on!

Perfume recipe:

Solid base as above
4 drops vitamin E oil
30 drops bergamot essential oil
1-3 drops vetiver essential oil (how smokey do you want it? A little goes a long way!)
3 drops cardamom essential oil
3 drops clove essential oil
20 drops dark patchouli essential oil

Mix well with melted solid base then let set up in tin. Will make a soft salve like perfume. For a more firm perfume, use equal amounts beeswax and oil and leave out emulsifier.
I just like using the emulsifying wax because it makes a nice, unscented base for perfumes that has more glide than pure beeswax, but you could also make a blend that is also beeswax, oil, and a butter like mango or shea. It will be significantly softer than one with emulsifier, but it’s possible. You’ll have to play with the ratios to get it just right. 

The other upside to using an emulsifying wax is that it makes the perfume more “dry” going on and less greasy. I do highly advise it. 

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

