Splish splash

wp-1461595487385.jpeg

Sunday was the day for making Mother’s Day treats. I made instant chai spice tea and put it in jars for my favorite mom’s and I also made bath melts. Bath melts may not seem like a big deal, but these little cuties are part oil and shea butter for moisturizer, and part emulsifier. The emulsifier makes the oils and butter distribute evenly in the tub and all go down the drain afterwards, so there’s no greasy oil slick left behind to clean up. Awesome!

wp-1461595523234.jpeg

I got the idea from Humblebeeandme.com but adapted the recipe by swapping the cocoa butter for coconut oil and changing the essential oils to match the chai spice drink, so they smell ever so faintly of cinnamon, nutmeg, and cardamom. Not so much that they will irritate sensitive skin in the bath, but enough to get a fun whiff of scent from time to time. Unfortunately, by making the ingredient swap, my bath melts now have to be refrigerated (ideally) or the heat of most bathrooms will ruin them, but I think it will work out. They will still melt easier and not have the cocoa butter scent to worry about, which makes it worth the trade off.

wp-1461595538636.jpeg

Unfortunately, I only was able to make a triple batch before I ran out of coconut oil, but a few of my mom’s aren’t bath people and will be happier with a lotion or hand cream instead so I will get to work on those soon. I am not planning on chai spice lotion, but I do like the idea of ginger and vanilla to compliment the chai tea.

 

wp-1461595554018.jpeg

Two bath melts and some chai spice tea to celebrate my favorite Mom’s! I’m excited!

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

1 thought on “Splish splash”

Leave a Reply

