Getting into condition

My quest for a conditioner is on the right track! I made a “cowash” conditioner (think Wen, only without all the bad stuff) using a new emulsifier called behentrimonium methosulfate. It’s especially well suited to conditioner because of its chemical structure and properties. In addition, I added castor oil for shine, glycerine for moisture, and a new toy called coco betaine which is a coconut derived surfactant that is safe and very mild. By using a small amount of the coco betaine, I was able to “wash” my hair (which was very oily and gross) with the conditioner and it ended up clean and silky soft and shiny. Win!

While this was a success, and I have enough for probably 2-3 more washes, I have plans to make the next batch even better. I could use a touch less coco betaine and a touch more oil, personally, and I think the addition of a rich oil like jojoba or olive would really make my hair soft and manageable, and a little bamboo tea or bamboo extract would help with tangles and breakage while combing due to naturally occurring silica. I’ll probably brew a tea of bamboo, horsetail, and marshmallow and use that.

I’d take a picture of my hair, but I can’t do the fancy hair toss like shampoo commercials so the effect would be lost. You’ll have to use your vivid imaginations but trust me; my hair is nice. Soft, silky, and it smells good.

My next job is to use this emulsifier to make a batch of hair pudding that’s thin enough for a pump bottle for my friend Swiss. So there are still experiments to be done!

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

