Hot, sweaty, mess

image

When the temperatures climbed up into the 70’s and 80’s recently, I became aware that the DIY deodorant I was using was making downright uncomfortable. I was itchy, and then I was even a little rashy, and research said it was from the baking soda. I stopped using it and got better, so I believed it.

Initially I was using a standard DIY recipe, with about 30% baking soda. I didn’t care for it very much, finding it very gritty and crumbly. It didn’t want to stay attached to my body, it wanted to ball up and fall off, and it was hard as a rock and difficult to even scrape up to apply. I melted that down and added a few tbsp of shea butter, which helped tremendously, but then started the itchiness.

image

Today I set out to make a deodorant that had staying power, clay for absorbent issues, and reduced amounts of baking soda but is still effective. Perusing five or six other DIY blogs led me to this formula:

  • 4g beeswax
  • 4 g Emulsifying wax, or more beeswax
  • 6g coconut oil
  • 12 g Shea butter
  • 6g cocoa butter
  • 14 g carrier oil of your choice (I used half each grapeseed and avocado, looking for rich vitamins and easy absorption)
  • 14 g baking soda or baking powder
  • 6g cornstarch or arrowroot
  • 4g kaolin clay (do not sub a darker clay as it will stain your clothes)

Essential oils of choice (I used lavender, tea tree, rosemary, and a little bergamot to brighten it up)

Melt all the oils together, and then stir in the baking soda, corn starch, clay, and essential oils.

image

Don’t you love my pictures of beige and yellow goo in my little pan?

It made a rather thin and oily mixture compared to the other deodorants I’ve made so far, but it thickened nicely as it cooled to room temperature and felt great going on. After two hours, and some sweating from a quick walk, there’s no evidence of it causing itching, burning, or of it flaking off, and it’s doing a great job at odor control so far.

I opted to put it in the little jar I’ve been using rather than use a deodorant stick container. I decided I wanted to see how much the recipe made and also how firm it got before deciding to use a true container. I’ve had trouble with the containers not wanting to twist up because the formula isn’t stiff and smooth enough in the past, but make it too stiff and smooth and it won’t melt with body temperature. I don’t mind using the little jar.

image

My only problem with all my DIY stuff is packing to travel. Standard travel cosmetic bags are built around today’s standard packaging. When you’re packaging stuff yourself in whatever works best for you, you break that mold and suddenly don’t have a cohesive “bathroom bag”. I suppose there are worse things!

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

1 thought on “Hot, sweaty, mess”

Leave a Reply

