But he who dares not grasp the thorn, should never crave the rose

Quote by Anne Brontë

A few months ago, I purchased a tiny package of red reef Australian clay, and as things happen, it got tied up at customs and was just delivered to me last week. My week was busy and I set it aside without another thought.

image

Today I woke up thinking about making deep, true red lipstick with that clay. The first lipstick I ever made was with rose clay and with rose clay and mica, and I have some shimmery gold set aside for red reef clay. I’m excited. I should make more rose clay lipstick someday, too, but for now I think I have a few left as gifts.

image

I began with a fairly straight-up lip balm recipe. I included shea butter and olive oil for their ultra moisturizing qualities. I also added a touch of magnesium stearate to help with slip, because everyone wants a smooth, creamy lipstick that doesn’t skid across the lips.

image

I love my chai spice lip balm and decided to add those essential oils again, just tiny amounts; cinnamon, clove, ginger, cardamom, and vanilla. I wouldn’t dare except this makes a fairly large batch of lipstick comparatively (I usually make four at a time; but I knew I would make about eight and a few samples) so the essential oils will be able to dilute among all eight tubes and not be too spicy in any one. Chai spice lipstick! Wow!

image
Pardon the picture quality; I was pouring one handed and snapping the shot. I promise I don’t pour lipstick like that exactly. I’m a little better 😉

Four of these are plain clay and four have a touch of mica in them for comparison. All are beautiful, however the clay isn’t deep red, it’s a deep red-brown. On the lips, it’s a wonderful natural color and the lipstick isn’t too heavy; you can layer it up or leave it semi-sheer.

image

I think if I use this clay again for lipstick I will add some burgundy red oxide I have to bring more red and a touch of blue to the party. The gold mica looks amazing, though. Keeping that, but I like my lipstick to have micas and shimmer.

image

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

