Neem for skin

image

Neem oil smells like something between old gym socks and teenage boy b.o. t-shirts from the bottom of the laundry basket. It’s that bad. Thankfully, after going through the lye process (saponification, people), most of the oil breaks down some and the odor is changed to something less strong. I also threw in a very potent, and skin friendly, combination of essential oils that included cedar, tea tree, rosemary, black pepper, and lavender. The smoky, woodsy, combination helped compliment and mask the worst of the neem and the soap, overall, smells pretty darn good. I’m relieved; yesterday when I poured it, it smelled really foul! I was afraid it was a total loss!

image

This skin friendly soap has a lightly exfoliating green clay layer, and a black layer with bentonite clay and activated charcoal to remove impurities from the skin. A lighter layer with kaolin clay and zinc oxide for healing compliment them both. It was a lot to keep track of.

image

Exfoliating green clay soap in the bowl.

image

Activated charcoal soap and zinc oxide soap.

image

Final soap yesterday, just before putting it “to bed”.

image

Soap today, whole and uncut. Fun layers! One day I will layer one so I have to cut it into quarters and then lengthwise.

image

Neem oil complexion soap with activated charcoal and bentonite clay. Ready in one month!

Mandatory disclaimer: I can’t attest to what neem oil or any of the ingredients actually do for the skin; I’m not a doctor. You’ll have to look that up yourself. I’m just repeating commonly held beliefs about these ingredients. It’s up to you to check into them and make decisions based on what you find, and check with a health care professional before using a soap to treat a medical condition. My products are not intended to cure any condition or disease and I’m not attempting to diagnose or cure any condition or disease.

And I’m officially out of room for soap until I reorganize my other room! I had hoped to squeeze in a batch of laundry and dish soap (I like ground bar soap at the sink for pots and pans) and I still might try just a six bar batch next week or so, but it’s more likely I’ll keep using soap nuts on clothes and try the liquid soap I made out on towels and bedding until I have more space. Liquid soap is versatile in that the concentrate makes a lot of soap but takes very little room to store. I want to use some of that concentrate to make more liquid French Clay facial cleanser for the people who liked it before, only this time it will be pump bottle friendly. Exciting! And, I’m debating trying my hand at cream soap base so I can finally master shaving cream. Finally. At long last.

However, first thing tomorrow, apple pie filling. I’d do it today, but I’m waiting on an organic starch to arrive via mail order that I need to thicken the sauce that will hold up to canning temperatures. Le sigh.

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

