Thighs like Velcro

image

Isn’t that a great blog title and mental image? We had some very warm days last week here in Kansas and I decided to wear some spring weight dresses, which was fabulous. However, being a “not skinny” girl, my thighs tend to rub together when I’m wearing skirts and like a lot of people, I get chafing when my skin rubs on skin. I have this problem on my bike after awhile, or when I’m on the treadmill and my bra rubs (TMI, right?), and I know a lot of you do, too.

I broke into my fabulous “non-talc” powder one day last week in a dress for my legs and feet, but today I stumbled upon a DIY recipe for a anti-chafing cream that sounds perfect. I tweaked it a little, and I’m giving you my version for both the powder and the cream.

DIY Non Talc Drying Powder

2 tbsp cornstarch or arrowroot powder
2 tbsp kaolin clay
1 tsp silk powder (optional)
1 tsp magnesium stearate (optional but I highly recommend it!)
2 tsp baking soda (also optional, for odor control if you use this in shoes often as I do, can be irritating on skin for some people)

Blend the cornstarch, clay, silk powder, magnesium stearate, and baking soda together in a coffee grinder. Add up to 10 drops of any carrier oil like jojoba oil and blend some more. Store in a old talc container or a thrift store salt shaker. Mountain Rose Herbs also sells powder containers for about $1/ each.

image

DIY Anti Chafing Cream

2/3 Cup Arrowroot Powder or Cornstarch
1/3 Cup carrier oils (I used a blend of broccoli seed and sweet almond; broccoli seed is high in vitamins and natural silicone making it extra slippery, while sweet almond has staying power)
10 drops essential oil of your choice for fragrance (I used lavender and diluted helichrysum, my go to for everything)

Mix. It’s that simple. In the bowl it will look like a viscous non-Newtonian mess, but smear a little on your hand and it disappears, leaving a powdery soft finish. I think it will work well this summer and be petro-chemical and silicone free.

image

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

1 thought on “Thighs like Velcro”

  1. Argh! The infamous, miserable “chub-rub” issue kept me from wearing dresses and skirts for years. Powders, deodorants, and creams didn’t help but Bandlettes (http://www.bandelettes.com/) did. Now, I wear whatever I want. ❤ Bandlettes are a straight-forward idea; with your DIY skizzles I bet you could make them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

