Epic Fail.

Making DIY products of any kinds requires a certain amount of understanding that your end results might not be what you expected, or might be a total catastrophe, or might need to be salvaged into something else. Here are a few of my DIY fails:

The eyeliner I tried to make today. This is Australian clay and activated charcoal, with glycerin and jojoba oil. It should be smooth and creamy. Instead, it refused to be anything but a mud mask, and not any color I wanted near my face:

image

The oil infusion of beet root I’ve had sitting for the past month. Every source on the internet tells me this little jar should be a rich berry color, like merlot…and I’ve got only olive oil still. No idea what’s going on here:

image

Then there was this soap:

image

Which was supposed to be sunset colors and came out looking kind of like raw bacon. I like bacon, but this wasn’t pretty. It was also really soft, even after a few weeks. I wasn’t about to let soap go to waste, though, so it went through the food processor with washing soda and borax and now I have scrubbing powder that is awesome at cleaning greasy pans and DIY projects. It looks like this:

image

I was heartbroken when one of my first soaps, my loofah soap, cured completely and they warped. Half look like this:

image

and…the other half are like this:

image

Blech!

If you have a DIY failure story, I’d love to hear it!

#diybeauty #diyhealth #diyfail #diyhumor

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

