No pun, no fun

Today I don’t have a silly blog post title, but I do have a great recipe for dry shampoo to share! Now, there are a lot of fast and easy recipes on Pinterest that just use cornstarch or arrowroot, maybe cocoa, and a dash of soda or salt and I’m afraid my recipe is more involved. However, it uses some stuff I mentioned before that you possibly thought you’d never need again and you can dress it up with essential oils if you choose.

To me, even though the following recipe does contain cocoa…it really doesn’t smell like anything. And I like that, a lot, because I prefer my hair to smell clean or smell plain. However, the best way I know to easily add essential oil is going to require your coffee been grinder. Yup. Clean it out well, then add 1-2 tsp plain salt (depending on how much essential oils) and 10-15 drops of citrus or peppermint essential oil. I wouldn’t go with another scent in case there is a faint chocolate aroma later on. Pulse these through your grinder, smacking the side to keep stuff loose, until you have a powder, then incorporate that powder into the following recipe. Btw, if you make a lot of DIY stuff, having a separate grinder for spices and DIY and one for coffee is probably wise, because cleaning it gets old. Ask me how I know and who still hasn’t gone by Goodwill to grab a second hand one. Yup.

Ingredients:

(Makes enough for 2 thrift store salt or pepper shakers; one for a friend or one for your gym bag, just put duct tape across the holes for traveling. Alternatively you can apply with a big fluffy brush).

1 tbsp cornstarch or arrowroot powder

1 tbsp baking soda

2 tsp zinc oxide (optional, helps with opacity)

2 tsp cocoa powder

2 Tbsp white or brown fine clay.

1-2 tsp salt (optional)

10-15 drops essential oil (optional)

Having very dark hair, I used rhassoul clay, it’s silky fine and what I have around. You could use kaolin if you’re blonde or French red…It’s a dark mahogany brown color. Stay away from Australian clays, unless your hair is truly pink or blood red.

Leave the cocoa powder out for light blondes!

#diyhealth #diybeauty #dryshampoo

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

