A Rose by any other name…

Today, thanks to a generous financial gift from my mother, was like Christmas. Several packages came in with interesting things I’ve been eyeballing for some time. One of these things was yet another clay: rose clay.

Rose Clay is kaolin clay that is a distinctive reddish color due to iron oxide deposits. The bag I received is a very pretty dusty mauve, and I was instantly dying to do something with it. I intend to make soap with it at some point, but I am out of space until I clean and reorganize. What to do…I decided to use up the scant half tsp of mica/oxide coloring sample I had that nearly matched the clay and make lipstick.

Into a double boiler went some basic lip balm ingredients, along with a smidge of magnesium stearate for, what another DIY blogger has aptly named, “slip”. Slip, slide,or glide; lipstick needs it.

It came together nicely. When it was all said and done I filled seven empty lip balm tubes with a rosy lip balm that goes on semi-sheer and very smooth, thanks to the shea butter and mag. stearate. I’m thrilled with the results.

 

And, here’s me. I didn’t bother with hair or any other make up, just the rose clay lipstick.

 

 

 

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

