Thicker than mud

As someone who is trying to burst onto the crowded crafters market with my soaps and shampoo bars, it’s been a little bit embarrassing to me that I haven’t been able to get my own hair to hurry up and detox and just get good and clean already. Every wash left it feeling awesome, but as it dried, it would inevitably get heavy and sticky, and dry with a visibly oily like look. Three cheers for chemical build up from over-zealous hair coloring…not.

Enough was enough. Time to get dirty.

IMG_20160301_192758

 I love bad puns! Anyways, a little research-and some inner dialogue questioning my sanity, as per usual- had me (skeptically) dipping my hair in a bowl of  rhassoul mud and then pouring it over my head before massaging it in and leaving it on for ten long minutes. However, it rinsed out surprisingly easily and I followed it up with a citric acid, lavender, and chamomile rinse and I am oh-so-happy with the results. My hair is super clean for the first time in three weeks, and I didn’t resort to my old generic wen to make it happen.

No, I didn’t get before and after pics-or middle of the shower pics. You’ll have to make do. 

 

IMG_20160301_192908

 

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

