Check your oil.

Over the years I’ve largely subscribed to the belief that you should wash your face often. In fact, like brushing your teeth, you couldn’t wash your face enough. Turns out I’m wrong on both counts, btw. Brushing obsessively will break down tooth enamel and irritate gums.  And, this blog post by Mommypotamus has me wondering if my teens-much less my kids- could have gone differently.

Many of us who were raised in a certain generation (ahem, right after the patchouli generation) believed in daily showers and squeaky clean hair. But thanks to everything from toxic sodium lauryl sulfate and other endocrine disruptors to plain ol’ dry skin, some of us started questioning the sanity of it all a few years ago. Maybe I’m crazy, but washing your face with oil and using tallow to moisturize dry skin seem ok now, where ten years ago I would have laughed in your face.

Go read Mommypotamuses blog. I think it will all slide into place.

 

 

Author: scseery

Soap, bath and beauty, jams and jellies, and unique upcycled gifts. That's what I make and talk about here. A lot.

Leave a Reply

